Smithsonian Photo Contest, Photo of the Day on Dec 7, 2011…

This past November, I decided to enter the 9th Annual Smithsonian Photo Contest.  I submitted several photos, not really thinking that any had a chance.  Most were travel pics; some from Canada, others from Argentina, but most were from my trip to Antarctica last year.  I was thrilled to see today online that on Dec 7th, one of my photos was an “Editor Pick,” also known as the “Photo of the Day” (see below).  I wish they sent out an email or something to let me know, but I guess better late than never.  Truth is… I didn’t really think any of my photos had a shot.  I really love taking photos, but I’m just a novice.  And a lot of people have some really awesome cameras, but for the longest time, I just had a simple Canon point-and-shot.  All the photos I entered in the photo contest, including the one that was a “Photo of the Day,” was from my point-and-shot.  I just recently upgraded to a Nikon DSLR, and I’ve already been taking some great pics.  I still have a lot to learn about photography and would love to take some classes, but for now, I’m just ecstatic that someone thought one of my photos was good enough to be a “Photo of the Day.”  I’m crossing my fingers when they announce the winner in a couple of months.

Link to the Photo of the Day.

Mountain and Reflection

One thought on “Smithsonian Photo Contest, Photo of the Day on Dec 7, 2011…

Leave a Reply

