Peace Corps The Gambia Harlem Shake…

Over the weekend, I had some free time on my hands.  I had learned about the Harlem Shake viral vid on YouTube just recently, and so I figured, “Hey, why don’t I make my own?  It’s simple enough.”  And so, I did.  I rounded up a bunch of kids from my village and told them that I wanted to videotape them dancing.  They already love being the subject of photographs (they always run up to me and say “Photo me, photo me!”), so being in a video was just as fun and entertaining.  I got my friend/neighbor to help me and together, we got the kids to jump up and down to some Gambian pop music.  I also filmed myself and a few kids doing the helmet-head-bobbing part.  Afterwards, I just took the clips, stitched them together, and added the Harlem Shake music track to the background.  And that, my friends, was my Sunday morning last weekend.

Hope you enjoy my video:

Leave a Reply

