Fulas on Human Planet…

I’ve been showing my host family episodes of Human Planet on my laptop… to teach them a little about geography and expose them to other cultures and peoples of the world. Tonight, we watched an episode on Deserts. The episode showed people from both Mali and Niger, and it turns out that the people they were highlighting were Fula people… and I was able to understand some what they were saying despite being a different dialect of the Fula language that I know. My host family understood them perfectly! It was so cool being able to listen and understand an African language on a TV show 🙂  Totally something that I wasn’t expecting.

Here’s some info about the Fula culture:
http://tariganter.wordpress.com/2011/09/17/who-are-the-fulani-people-their-origins/

Leave a Reply

